Hawks fly high to celebrate champs

Warren HatelyAugusta Margaret River Times
Mitch Lynn receives his award from league coach Matt Jamieson.
Camera IconMitch Lynn receives his award from league coach Matt Jamieson.

The Augusta-Margaret River Hawks football and netball clubs have celebrated the end of their year in style.

In a ceremony at Caves Road Collective last Saturday night, football team captain Mitch Lynn won the coveted fairest and best award, while top netballer Janelle Keding scored the award for the women.

Football reserves’ firebrand Grant Garstone won the title, while Jack Hindle was named fairest and best in the colts.

Netballer Kelli Whitehead scored the gong for the reserves netball sides, with Cobie Field honoured in the under-18s and Caschlin Wood in the under-16s.

Club co-ordinator Sharon Ridsdale said the awards celebrated the season’s achievements and the overall team effort.

A host of other awards recognised the efforts of players and volunteers.

Lynn won the players’ player award, while league footballers Mitch Payne (most consistent) and Matthew Jukes (fairest and best runner-up) were named along with Harry Taylor as the league side’s top goal kicker and Times football reporter Jackson Lavell-Lee was awarded best back man.

The Hawks also gave awards to Zac Dronow (the club’s most promising player), Banjo Watkins (most improved), and David McCashney (the Ash Hammond volunteer of the year award).

Chris Combes won the Julie Hughes Service to the Image of Netball award and Greg Fisher the Keith Becker Service to the Image of Football award.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails