Vollies win

Augusta Margaret River Times
Shire president Ian Earl congratulates Volunteer of the Year Ian Smith.
Camera IconShire president Ian Earl congratulates Volunteer of the Year Ian Smith.

Ian Smith was named the Augusta-Margaret River Shire’s volunteer of the year at a ceremony last week, honouring more than 30 years of service to the creative sector.

More than 140 volunteers, friends and family attended the December 5 celebration in which the work of 230 active local volunteer organisations were commended. Certificates were also given to worthy nominees, while Eleka Marshall and Saffron Sgroi were named youth volunteer award winners.

Certificates of appreciation were given to Alana McMorron, Ellen Stirling, Jarrod Brindley, Maxine Williams and Raelene Pethica.

Youth certificates were awarded to Maia Sheridan-Hulme, and Menaase and Tyrell McKenzie-Roe.

Shire president Ian Earl expressed thanked the volunteers who were instrumental for community life across the region.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


“I would like to take the time to acknowledge that volunteers are the backbone of our community,” he said.

“For many years, I have been humbled by the dedicated efforts of community members working across our shire to assist others and to make our shire a better place.”

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails