Acclaimed director appointed jury chair

Busselton Dunsborough Times

Australian director, producer and screenwriter Scott Hicks has been announced as the 2017 CinefestOZ film prize jury chair.

Hicks’ career has been studded with prestigious award nominations and wins; his film Shine was nominated for seven Academy Awards – including Best Director and Best Original Screenplay – and Geoffrey Rush won Best Actor for his performance.

Snow Falling on Cedars, starring Ethan Hawke, also received an Academy Award nomination, and Hicks’ directorial credits also include acclaimed films No Reservations, Hearts in Atlantis and The Lucky One.

Hicks is also a passionate documentary filmmaker and has been awarded an Emmy and Peabody for his works.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


CinefestOZ chairwoman Helen Shervington said Hicks had carved out a stellar career both at home and overseas, and the festival was delighted to have such a respected director head up the film prize jury.

Hick said he was “honoured” to be involved with the 10-year anniversary celebrations of CinefestOZ.

“The $100,000 film prize is of major significance and will provide a tremendous boost to the career of the winner,” he said.

Hicks will be joined on the 2017 CinefestOZ Film Prize Jury by a selection of esteemed film industry professionals, to be announced soon.

The prize was created to encourage excellence in Australian filmmaking with its $100,000 award to an Australian feature film or feature-length documentary.

Last year the prestigious award went to Girl Asleep, directed by Rosemary Myers, which went on to win the AFCA Award for Best Film, the AACTA Award for Best Costume Design, and the Future Wave Youth Jury Award at the Seattle International Film Festival.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails